Closing in

Posted on

Yesterday marked my 95th blog post. The 95th in 95 days. That’s either an accomplishment to take pride in or kind of weird, but whatever it is, I feel compelled to continue on to 100 in 100 days, after which I may take a bit of a rest. I’m pretty certain I want to keep blogging, but perhaps not at quite the same pace.

I’m not much of a goal setter, and that might well explain why I’m where I am in life, or it could be that I’m just exactly where I should be. I don’t think so, really, else I wouldn’t be so itchy to get out of Dodge, but the notion of aiming toward that 100 mark has stayed with me for some time now. It wasn’t even on the radar when I started the blog. I don’t know what was, other than I had the need to write. I still do. I’m not sure where I became aware of thinking of 100 posts in 10o days, but whenever it happened, it took root and it’s been growing since. It was something to aim for. A goal. And now that I’m closing in on it, I’m both a little astonished and pleased that something I’ve set out to do looks feasible.

I’ve found in other areas of life that having some short-term goals, and having them written down–and there’s that whole “writing is magic” thing again–has helped me in getting some things done instead of perpetually farting around about needing to do whatever it is and never quite getting around to it. To-do lists have been most helpful in the de-crapping I’ve been doing, and you know? it’s felt really good to cross tasks off my list. Why it’s taken me so long to figure this out remains a mystery, but better late than never, I guess.

On my list this week are tasks in the de-crapping project, some knitting that needs to be finished up, and walking. Nice warm weather (for this time of year) is forecast and I don’t want to miss it. I’d also like to get my bike in riding condition, and I need to work somewhere in there, too.

Closing in. Getting closer. Hitting some goals. It feels good.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. I have found that food journaling helps me with my intention to lose weight — along with exercising. I have noticed my tendency to snack or graze during the day and only eat somewhat healthy at dinner time. So you hit the nail on the head (so to speak) when you wrote about short term goals and writing them down aids in successfully getting them done. Now if I could just get the grazing train to bypass me, I would be very happy.

    Reply
    • I don’t keep a food journal, but I do note how I’ve done with my eating each day–good, bad, really bad, OMG . . . you get the idea. I think it’s helped me a bit. I tend to do fine throughout the day then eat a lot at night, just when I shouldn’t. I’m working on it.

      Good luck as you work toward your goals!

      Reply

Leave a comment