RSS Feed

Windfall

Posted on

I spent most of yesterday afternoon moving things. Up and down the stairs, carrying heavy, awkward, bulky things, loading them into my car, dragging them into my house, putting them away–and I’m sore. My friend, the subject of yesterday’s post, gave me much of what she wasn’t able to take with her on her move to another state.

I’m grateful to get these things. It seems, initially, that bringing a lot of things into the house when I’m working through my own things and lightening the number of my possessions runs counter to the spirit of the Great De-crapping. Not so.

The food she gave me left me with a nicely stocked pantry. I was given a chest of drawers, which will replace the plastic bin unit I now store my unmentionables in. More room equals no more cramming, and just maybe I’ll clear out the unnecessary unmentionables. A slip? Really? I haven’t worn a dress in ten years, so why do I need a slip? 20 pair of white socks? Maybe I should back off on buying them for a while.

Best of all, I now have a bike. I’ve wanted a bike for ages but somehow never quite came up with the money. My car would need attention or the cat needed to go to the vet or some other thing siphoned off the money meant for a bike, but now–I have one, and it’s just what I wanted–a single-speed cruiser with back pedal brakes, and it’s turquoise! Happy day!

I wish my friend could have taken all of her things with her. I’d rather she have these things than me, but that couldn’t be, so I am grateful to have and use them. When I do, most especially when I’m out on my bike, I’ll be thinking of my generous friend and wishing her a windfall, something that will benefit her and make her happy, too.

 

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. Oh for a turquoise bike….
    Or should I say, another one. Just like the one I had when I was twelve. But with probably one of those big butt seats.

    How fortunate you are to have received such a lovely gift from your lovely friend. And that the things she left you will serve you well. How nice to have such friends.

    Windfall indeed.

    Reply
    • I’d much rather have her here, but the things she left for me will be used and appreciated, and that bike–well, I just hope I remember how to ride. It’s been a long time.

      I’m really fortunate to have good people in my life.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

