RSS Feed

Still here

Posted on

For now, that is. A blog  break has been nice. I don’t know if I’m done done just yet, but a couple of days off were pretty sweet.

The crisis du jour is a bent garage door opener sensor, which I’m unable to whack back into place. I’d hasten to point out that I didn’t do the bending. Getting it back into place is at least a two-person job, one to whack, one to hold the support steady, or possibly it’s a pro job. I don’t know yet, but I suspect my brothers will be trying to fix it later. The cars are outside the garage, the door is closed and secured, and I’m calling it good for the moment.

It’s turning into a windy-as-hell day. It’s nice and sunny otherwise, and though I’d planned on taking today as a rest day, I may just get myself out for a short walk after a while. I had a dandy one yesterday, a really good long ramble, plus a good long sit-and-think alongside a favorite expanse of water, not really thinking of anything in particular, but enjoying the warmth of the sun and the beauty of the day. There’s still a surprising amount of green on some of the trees and ground cover, though of course many of the trees are bare now, or close to it.

I’ve written before that fall is the season of melancholy for me, because, while I do appreciate the beauties of the season, the one to follow is never too far from my mind. I stumbled across a word for it the other day–shuushi–a Japanese word meaning “autumnal melancholy.” It’s good to know that I’m not the only person who feels this way during the fall; for many, this is the best time of the year, but give me spring, when the tender green on the trees reappears and the flowers begin to bloom, the ice on the water breaks up and the waters can dance and play again, and the blessed sun shines more often than not. I’ll take the heat of summer, too, when the crops are growing, the trees are in full leaf and there are pockets of wonderful cool along the trail, when all is green and fulsome. I’m saddened by the dying of the year.

Enough negative talk–it is a beautiful day, and I’m set on enjoying it. Happy Sunday, all–make it a great day!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. So glad you are still there as I enjoy your missives everyday you post. We too had a pretty bad windstorm on Saturday. I spent part of Sunday waiting for the newspaper by picking up twigs, branches and other items that littered and provided tiny obstacles on our driveway. I think almost all of the leaves are down and the gutters are full. Keep on posting to your heart’s content and quit when you are finally done with sharing. In the meantime I will still look forward to those almost daily emails with your postings.

    Reply
    • I needed those couple of days off, but I felt a tug or two in regard to the blog. The natterings do help me, and they serve as a diary of sorts, as well as a letter to someone whose place in my heart is secure. If the posts are occasionally amusing or even helpful to others, so much the better! I appreciate your comments, Judy, and your friendship.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

