RSS Feed

I know the truth

Posted on

It’s been a good morning, working on some proofing and editing for my client. It’s funny how quickly I’ve gone from “I don’t know what the hell I’m doing” to “I think I might be really good at this.” Time will tell, but yeah, I could probably do this kind of work for the long haul. It’s already been a growing experience, regardless. Still, more would be excellent.

It’s another beauty of a day and I’ll be getting out this afternoon again. I had a good long ramble yesterday, and while I was out, I kept thinking about the first time I’d gone to that particular spot, several years ago now, but the memory was still fresh. I couldn’t manage to do what came pretty easily to me yesterday way back when, got too puffed to finish climbing up a bit of a hill and had to stop to rest. It was a heck of a lot easier yesterday, and I not only got up whatever hills and rises there were, but I completed the entire loop of the trail. That might be small potatoes to some, but it showed me just how far I’ve come this year, starting out with just ten minutes a day.

Persistence is the key here, and never mind that there’s nothing to show (yet) to the rest of the world. I haven’t had any kind of startling weight loss, my clothes aren’t hanging off of me, I’m not thin. And you know what? Big whoop. I’m stronger than I have been in a very long time, I have more stamina, I feel better, and more than any of that, I see possibilities. I’m miles away from where I started and to hell with anyone who thinks I haven’t accomplished a thing. I know the truth, because it’s all there in every step I’ve put onto my ratty old shoes. All those steps have taken me miles and miles ahead of where I was, physically, spiritually, emotionally. I know the truth.

I know the truth, because I see it out in front of me, and it’s a vision of health and well-being and learning to be comfortable in this body of mine, of honoring it and treating it with respect and dignity, and of looking in the mirror and liking the woman who’s there smiling back at me. I know the truth.

That’s my truth today. I am not yet fully who I want to be, but I am not who I was. That’s a powerful truth.

Find your truth and love it.

Make it a great day, all!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

