RSS Feed

Comfort zone

Posted on

Yesterday, I rested. After four days in a row of mostly longer than usual walks, I’d earned a day off. Today, it’ll be weights and yoga.

Mr. F once told me that there are “bar people,” folks who so regularly go to bars that they can be spotted a mile off. He was right, and I was knee deep in them last night. My friend M asked me to go to a concert with her, part of the lineup for a four-day music fest around here, and the venue was at one of the locals. It’d been almost exactly a year since I’d last been in a bar, and yep, I was out of my comfort zone for the first hour or so, but surrendered that soon enough, and you know what? I had a great time. I may have been out of my depth, but I was with a good friend, the music was great, and the folks there were pretty decent. I’m glad I went, and it was a good reminder to me to push out of those comfort zones once in a while, if only to keep things from going stale.

Those kinds of gatherings are always good for people watching and I amused myself part of the night with making up stories about the folks there. That girl there, with the short shorts and the long, highly processed hair? Roller derby queen. That guy in the red jeans? Looking for all the attention he can get. The diminutive guy at the adjacent table? Easily drank his own weight and was numbing some pain or loss with gallons of beer.

Tonight I’ll be with a more sedate crowd and quieter music will be in the background as several of us gather for a meal and some knitting. It should be warm enough to sit outside on the deck for a time and enjoy this beautiful day together. A bonus is that I won’t have to stuff bits of tissue into my ears to dampen the noise or have to yell “what?” every other word.

Happy Friday, all! Make it a great day!

 

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

