RSS Feed

Surreal

Posted on

It was kind of surreal, my walk yesterday. I fell into–I don’t know what to call it exactly. A trance? That’s not quite right.

I shifted out of myself. Maybe that’s better. More than once along the route, I sort of woke up and realized I was busting out that walk on automatic, legs and feet pounding it out, arms pumping, but I was somewhere else entirely.

Surreal. That’s the word.

I’ve had similar experiences before, and I would guess most folks do from time to time, but it’s not a common one for me and I don’t quite know what to make of it. And maybe I should just let it be, instead of trying to make something of it.

Way back when I was working on my degree at the community college some 25 miles or so from here, I had a similar experience that’s stayed with me all these years. I drove the same route, depending on my semester schedule, anywhere from three to five days a week, and to say it was familiar would be an understatement. Like my route at the park, where I know the trail so well that I know where to sidestep the horse poop, I knew every curve, every place I needed to slow down, every minor jog in the road. One morning, I had a clear recollection of leaving the house to go to class, an equally clear recollection of sort of waking up when I got to the parking lot outside my building, but no memory at all of the in-between, and I wondered, really wondered, how I’d got there.

Freaky.

Could be it’s the shift in the seasons. Some believe that the veil between this world and whatever lies beyond thins when the equinox approaches. I don’t know, and I don’t know that I’m that attuned to whatever lies beyond. I know some folks who are, and while it may not be my experience, I can’t dismiss it as mere fancy for those who are more receptive. There are spaces in between, that much I do know.

In any case, it was an experience, that walk yesterday.

Happy Wednesday, all! Make it a great day!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

