RSS Feed

Rain, heat, and other things

Posted on

I woke to the sound of rain–it was most welcome, and I’m hopeful of more to come.

I also woke to the sound of the furnace blasting away. Not so welcome, and I’ve spent my morning in as little as possible to try to compensate for the 1000 degree heat. What I get for living with an old person. Makes me wonder how high it’ll be turned up when it’s really cold.

Some day, I will control the thermostat. That’s really not too much to ask.

If it clears later, though I hope it doesn’t, I’ll head out for a walk. If not, there are other ways to stay active, and I’m sure to work up a sweat indoors with the heat on as high as it is.

The first half or so of my walk yesterday was good; the second half, not so much. My back started complaining, then my hips joined in, but I told ’em to shut it and finished my regular route. The back has been touchy lately, and I’m thinking I need to do my back routine more often, as well as add in something specifically for my hips. If the winter is a rough one and I can’t walk regularly, it’ll be critical to keep both back and hips as limber as possible so that, come spring, I don’t have a long period of readjustment and I can just get out and get moving without having to baby my creaky bits too much.

Or I could just move south, where this kind of seasonal thing isn’t so much of an issue.

I’ll add that to my list of things to do for “some day.”

Make it a great day, all, and I will endeavor to do the same!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

