RSS Feed

Into the void

Posted on

Yesterday was a rest day, one I needed after several days of busting it out. I still went to the park for the peace of the place, and to feed my soul, but no walkies. I’ll be heading out later today, minus the half a bucket of sand in my shoe.

Even though I didn’t walk yesterday, I still stepped out–stepped out into the void, that is, and made the initial moves toward starting up a business.

I have no clue what I’m doing.

I’m kind of scared.

I don’t know if it’ll turn into anything or not, but what the hell? I’ll never know if I don’t give it a shot, and the time seems right.

I’m hanging out my shingle and offering editing and proofreading services. I live in a university town, after all, and somebody’s going to need such services. Getting the name and contact information out there will be key, so I’m looking at having business cards and fliers printed up and posted around town, targeting the campus area specifically. I’ve posted an ad on Craigslist and will look at other sites where I might need to get something up.

I have my first gig already! A former student came to me, asking for help with the book she’s been working on for some time. I said yes, not knowing if I could really do it or not. You know what? After the initial hesitation and usual messing around and delaying, I’m finding that I’m not only enjoying it, but (big surprise!), I think I’m pretty good at it, too.

Here’s the thing–for women, especially, it’s hard to claim any level of mastery without feeling somehow apologetic about it, or worse, going too far the other way and becoming strident and overbearing about it. My aim here is to find the middle way, where I am secure in my skills, but not needing to beat folks over the head in my efforts to show them just how great I am. I don’t know everything and will make mistakes and be unsure–heck, I’ve been struggling with a particular phrase for a couple of days now while working on my current project. Some brushing up on the grammar and getting my hands on a good solid reference would be in order, but I’m up to the challenge of finely honing my skills to the point where I am quietly confident of my abilities.

The name of my business is Blue Book Editing. “Blue” because that’s my favorite color. “Book” because I love books. The rest? well, that’s what I do.

Wish me luck as I head down this new path!

Make it a great day, all!

 

 

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

