RSS Feed

Missing it

Posted on

Two days without exercise, and I’m feeling it. A late afternoon migraine yesterday kept me from getting out for the walk I wanted; today, the pain is gone and I’m not letting anything keep me from getting the activity I want and need. Heat or no, I’m heading out this evening.

Here’s a funny thing: despite craving movement, I still have to talk myself into it. Every single time I go for a walk, or do the weights and yoga, there are a few moments of hesitation, an acknowledgement that this is the very last thing I want to do,then a recalling of past sessions and the good feelings attached to them, and, finally, an “Okay, I can do this. Let’s go.” There’s never a “woo hoo!” at the beginning–that comes at the end–but I do it. That’s the thing that really matters, and maybe the pre-exercise hesitation and dicking around is a needed part of the process. And maybe I’m worrying at something I don’t need to worry at. I do what needs to be done, I feel better–much better–for it afterward, and I miss it if I skip too many days in a row. I’m calling that progress!

Happy Wednesday, all! Make it a great day!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. You always say just what I need to hear.
    Thanks so much.
    I really need to quit dicking around. The dicking around has become a habit in itself. I can tell my health is suffering for it. Thanks for the kick in the ass.

    Reply
    • Always happy to kick some ass, T!

      Seriously, though, I’m the Queen of Dicking Around and that’s something I’m going to be working on. I get my fine wide arse up and out the door because I feel so much better when I do, and feel I’ve accomplished something. But it does take work.

      My advice? start slow, with small, manageable goals. I started out with ten minutes a day. You can do it, T, and I’ll be here for you if you need me. You know that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

