RSS Feed

A little venting

Posted on

I’ve worked over the last couple of years to regain some of the ground I’d let go. I’ve worked to get back the optimism of prior years that allowed me to start liking myself and caring for myself in a healthful way, and that allowed me to break out of the isolated shell I’d been living in for most of my life. I’ve worked at it. I’m not there yet, but I can look back and see just how far I’ve come, and I’m proud of what I’ve done.

Part of the process has been weeding out people who’d wandered into my life who are enemies of my soul. I’ve made my choice to weed out the persistently negative, the chronic complainers, the mean-spirited, the ungenerous, the crabs.

Add to that list the ones who avoid personal responsibility and try to place blame on others. I won’t offer details other than to say something of this nature happened in one of my circles recently, and it rankles me. I’d some months ago decided this person was not doing my soul any good, but this latest incident was the nail in the coffin. I am done with said person, because sometimes, no matter how hard you try to find the good in others, some people are just jerks and you’re better off not wasting your own precious life on jerkwaddery. And if you’re one of those jerks, sort yourself out.

That’s off my chest now, and I feel better for it. A little venting is necessary sometimes.

I had a fantastic walk yesterday and it’s looking like another gorgeous day for walking, so I’m getting offline as soon as I can and going out to enjoy it. These days will not last, and I want to savor them while I can. Also fantastic was the birthday barbeque I went to last night. Good times! Such nice people in my life, too. I’m a lucky girl.

I can’t emphasize enough how much better I feel, in mind and body and spirit. I may not look a whole lot different on the outside, but the inside is looking nice and spiffy these days. I’m pretty darn happy, I like me a whole lot, and I know just how lucky I am to be able to do what I’m doing right now. I don’t forget that, not for a single day of my life. I’m grateful for what I have, and for the time I have right now to just be. Call me lazy if you like–I don’t care. I like the life I have. I like the people in it, however involved they are, however on the periphery some may be. I know they’re there, and I’m choosing to believe they have good intentions toward me.

Life is good. And it’s too short and too precious to waste it on buttholes.

Happy Thursday, all! Make it a great day!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. Your acceptance of your life’s journey is coming through your words and actions. Keep on truckin’!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

