RSS Feed

A good day

Posted on

It’s a cool and overcast day here, made for curling up with a book and a cup of hot tea, and I may just do that after a while. Thanks to my Kindle and my library of paper-and-ink books, as well as a great local public library, I’m pretty well set for life, reading-wise. That investment of a whopping dollar and ninety-eight cents into the Kindle has fired up (did you see what I did there? Clever me!) my love of reading. The only problem now is that I spend far more time looking for books for the Kindle–and there are tons of free ones. Free! One of my favorite words!–than I do actually reading. Maybe that’ll stop once the new wears off some, and while I still have room for more. Today, I’m looking at mostly children’s classics, some that are old favorites, others that I’ve meant to read over the years but just never got to. It’s good fun!

I do plan on a walk today, if it doesn’t rain. I won’t complain if it does, as it’s mighty dry around these parts, and there’s always my weights and yoga to do, but a walk would feel pretty darn good today after some birthday indulgences on Sunday. Yesterday’s birthday treat was a free bowl of noodles from Noodles and Co.–bangkok curry with sauteed shrimp, if you’re curious–and it was delicious! Just enough heat to make it interesting, and chockful of veggies and those tasty shrimp. It was a great birthday lunch, and the day overall gets a gold star. Yep, it was a good day.

I’m thrilled that my oldest niece will be back in town this weekend and will be able to come to the family birthday dinner planned for Saturday night. I haven’t seen my girl since she graduated in May and I’m looking forward to it! I haven’t settled on a place for my dinner yet, though it’s down to two now. Maybe three.

As for being 54 goes, it feels remarkably like being 53. It’s only a number, and as Satchel Paige said, age is mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it don’t matter. And anyway, the best is yet to come. I believe that.

Happy Tuesday, all! Make it a great day!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

