RSS Feed

The best is yet to come

Posted on

So the trip to the Big City was a success, and though I only hit up three places, I was very satisfied with my choices and with the relatively piddly cost of a few hours of vacation time–$35.00, give or take.

First up was the chock-full-of-colorful-merchandise World Market. I took my time strolling through the store, noting various things I could use my birthday coupon on,  intent on using it well. There was a lot more I might have bought, but in the end, I came out with a pretty new pair of earrings, a couple of votive holders, a bottle of birthday beer (see pic below), a little birthday chocolate, and a giant bottle of extra virgin olive oil. I was happy!

Birthday beer!

Birthday beer!

Getting peckish, I then headed over to Qdoba for a mango/chicken salad and a free naked burrito, thanks to the BOGO coupon they’d kindly sent me. Lunch and dinner on the relative cheap? You know I like that! I was glad I’d taken my little cooler for the burrito, even if I did end up cramming it into that just slightly too small cooler. I’m still alive today, so I guess there was no harm in a little juice leaking out of it.

Lastly, I went to Half-Price Books and spent some happy time browsing. I picked up two YA novels–Brandon Mull’s Beyonders A World Without Heroes, the first book in a fantasy series that’s new to me. The prologue was very promising! I also bought Graceling by Kristin Cashore on the high recommendation of several of the Youth librarians at my library. Never fear, I still love my little Kindle, but it doesn’t replace real, live books. Nothing could, and it’s always been kind of a thrill for me to buy books. I just love ’em.

A stop at the Sonic along the way, and I headed back to Ames. I missed Happy Hour by about ten minutes, but I still treated myself to a little something tasty, and further treated myself to some quiet time with my Kindle at my favorite park before going home.

It was a fine and refreshing day, and a great way to kick off the weekend plans to celebrate my birthday. It’s funny, but I’m looking forward to it, to the opportunity to live another year. The best is yet to come. Life isn’t through with me yet, and I’m not through with it, either. Yep, the best is yet to come. Stay tuned . . .

Happy Friday, all! Make it a great day!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

