RSS Feed

Saved!

Posted on

So, you’ve probably figured out by now that I’m a frugal girl and I like saving my money. It probably won’t surprise you, then, that I like piggy banks. I have a small collection of them, some dating all the way back to my childhood, and yep, all of them have at least a penny in them.

I like all of  my banks, but I often think about the one that got away, thanks, I think, to some over-zealous purging of household goods. I don’t know where it came from or who it officially belonged to, but I loved it and I still miss it. I miss her. She was a cheerful hippo, done up in white ceramic, about six inches high, and she wore a colorful polka-dotted skirt in bright colors–red, blue, green, and yellow. Somewhere along the line, she disappeared, and though I’ve searched the house and just about every box and nook and cranny, she’s long gone. I’ve kept an eye out over the years when I’ve gone to the Goodwill or an antique store–I’ve even scoured eBay–but so far, I haven’t found her twin. Yet. Things sometimes seem to have a way of turning up just when you think they never will.

Sometimes people do, too–I just got an unwelcome email from someone from my past who should stay in the past. Needless to say, I’m choosing not to reply. Yikes.

Anyway–I’ll keep on looking for that hippo. She’s out there somewhere. Sometimes the past needs to stay where it is, as in the case of that email. Other times, you save up the past to relive it later. I guess that’s called “nostalgia.” Not a bad place to visit, most times.

Make it a great day, all!

ETA: All these years I thought she was a hippo–turns out she was a pig(gy bank) after all. I located this on eBay just a minute ago, and now I have a direction to go in! I’m not, by the way, even considering this set, but that’s my bank on the right. I found these on Etsy, as well, and man, I’m mightily tempted!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

