RSS Feed

The points DO matter

Posted on

It was game night last night and I somehow came home with more than I left with, including two mixing bowls, some grapes, a bottle of hickory syrup, a pretty bookmark, two fridge magnets, and a pair of hand-knit socks. I’d say I made out pretty well!

Waiting for me when I got back to the house was an envelope containing Amazon gift card codes, which I’d traded points from one of the online rewards programs I use to obtain. Think digital Green Stamps. I’d been waiting for a couple of weeks for those babies, and with them finally firmly in my hot little hands (metaphorically speaking), I fired up the computer and ordered me a Kindle. I know, I know–my electronics purchases are usually disasters, and I’m not forgetting the recent computer fiasco. This one, though, is going to work out. I mean it. And if not, I’ll send the thing back.

For the curious, I use the following rewards programs: MyPoints, Bing Rewards, Swagbucks, and most recently added, Qmee. I’ll leave you to look them up if you’re interested. There are differences in each program, of course, but the upshot is, I do searches or click on special emails and I rack up points which can be swapped for gift cards or other things on down the road. They’re all free to use. So–am I getting rich off these programs? Nope, but it’s not costing me anything to use them, and banking those points has been much like saving up my pennies–a little every day adds up. It’s darn nice to have something extra put aside, just in case, or in this case, for something I simply want but would not be able to justify as an out-of-pocket purchase. I’ve also used points to get gifts for others, and have donated I don’t know how many points to the Red Cross in times of disaster. It’s a win all the way around, and I’m online anyway, so why not?

By the way, I’m planning on financing Kindle book purchases with my rewards points. Another win!

It’s a beautiful day in my neighborhood and I’ll be getting outside to enjoy it after cat-sitting duties (another gig! Yay! I love the cat-sitting!). Hoping it’s a beautiful day wherever you are, too, and if not, make it a great day anyway. Happy Saturday!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

