RSS Feed

A shift in perspective

Posted on

So I woke up around 3:00 this morning, got up and did what I normally do around 3:00 in the morning, got back in bed and went back to sleep.

That’s what I’d hoped to do. Instead, I flopped around for two hours, eyes too heavy to turn on a light and read or knit, but not heavy enough to pull me into the arms of Morpheus. Frustrated and tired and crankier by the minute, I did an old trick from back in my chronic insomnia days–I slept at the other end of the bed.

I don’t know why it works, but it does often for me. Just changing the end of the bed that my head (I like that syncopated beat, don’t you?) was on helped, and I slept well after that.

A shift in perspective.

I’ve spent the last couple of days fussed and frustrated and at times furious over computer issues. I bought a new one in hopes that it’d replace this old dinosaur and be just what I needed. Thanks to Microsoft’s stranglehold on operating systems, however, it was loaded up with Windows 8. Windows 8 sucks donkey balls, and you can quote me on that. I did not like it at all. There were other faults with the new computer, as well, so back it went.

That left me with my old computer to deal with. In order to make ol’ Dino the dinosaur run faster, I deleted all of the software and programs that I didn’t use. I also deleted some I did use, like audio and stuff, so there were some bad words said and a whole lot of time wasted in trying to install drivers and whatnot to fix what I’d unfixed. Nothing worked, and my frustration mounted. Hours into it, I finally said “to hell with it,” shut the darn thing off, and went to read.

I don’t know how much my fussing over the last couple of days truly affected my sleep. Sometimes, a girl just can’t sleep. Maybe I was subconsciously fussed and didn’t know it. I’m not sure it matters at all why I couldn’t sleep, or why throwing my pillows down on the other end of the bed and sleeping there worked, but it did. That shift in my sleeping position must have shifted some of my thinking, too, because this morning, I woke up feeling kind of foolish for all the fuss and bother of yesterday, and strangely grateful that the problems I’ve been so worked up about are First World ones. I’m not worried about my personal safety every day and night, I have abundant clean, safe water to drink, plenty of food, clothing, and extras. Ol’ Dino still works, in some ways better and faster than it did before. I really have very little to complain about.

A shift in perspective. Sometimes that’s all it takes. Seeing things from a different angle can make a huge difference in your overall perspective.

That may seem a big leap from one day to the next–maybe it is. But it’s how I’m seeing things today.

Make it a good day, all.

ETA: I passed 6,300 views on the blog yesterday to hit 6305, though three of those five were the same person, aka a repeat offender. You could just talk to me, ya know. Just sayin.’

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

