RSS Feed

Vacation day

Posted on

I had a great day with Linda in the big city of Marshalltown yesterday. Got lost a couple of times but made my way out safely, and I’m glad I took the more scenic route there and back on the historic Lincoln Highway, rather than on the interstate. It was a glorious drive, sunny, not too hot, and green–oh man, the green! It was a feast for the eyes. My little car ran like a top and, as always, seemed happy to be taking a road trip.

We met up at a McDonalds, hit up a yarn shop there (yep, I bought a skein of yarn, because I needed it so badly), then found a really nice coffee shop that was a hair away from closing, but the nice boy working there still got us some coffee and exceptionally tasty scones and let us sit out on their patio while he got things ready to close inside. It was so nice out there, and we lingered as long as we could, knitting and chatting, but gathered our things before he had to throw us out. Nice shop, nice people, and I would love to go back there. And did I mention the scones? Fantastic!

We found ourselves another patio at a restaurant and hung out there for some time as well, enjoying the mild day and having the place to ourselves. I indulged in a margarita and a delicious burger; Linda had riblets and water. Somehow I think I got the better end of the deal. I stopped at a mom and pop joint on the way back and had a small hot fudge sundae and savored every bit of it. It was a vacation day, after all, and treats are allowed on vacation days.

Today, I’ll be back to eating less indulgently and will likely get out for a walk later. I think my cold will allow it. I’m better today, other than a coughing fit that started at 4:30 this morning and didn’t let up much for several hours. Bleh. Still, I’m breathing more or less normally, I’m less headachy, and I’m hoping all symptoms will just GO AWAY soon. Being sick is not my idea of a good time.

It’s a beautiful sunny day here. Hope the sun is shining wherever you are, too. Happy Thursday, all!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. It was a very fun day. Thanks!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

