RSS Feed

Sunny Sunday

Posted on

It’s a warm sunny day out there and I’m planning on getting out for a walk before it gets too hot and steamy. I’m hoping the fine weather holds for the next in the Roosevelt Summer Sundays concert tonight, because it’s so much nicer to be outside on a fine evening, surrounded by good folks and listening to good music, than being inside.

It being Father’s Day and all, I’d be remiss not to say something. I think my FB status says it as well as anything:

My dad was three months shy of his 50th birthday when I was born. He also had a one-year-old and a two-year-old. For a lot of guys, that would be a little overwhelming, but Dad? he handled it pretty well. He read to us, he sang to us, he let us beat him at footraces, and he let us mess around in his shop. We had new shoes every school year–always a thrill–we had great vacations out west and up to Canada, food on the table, clothes enough, and toys to play with. Most of all, we had a dad who was there. He wasn’t perfect, but he was darn good. Miss you, Dad, every day. Happy Dad’s Day.

A peaceful day to you.  I’m wishing you sunshine, and good thoughts of your own dads.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

