RSS Feed

Plenty

Posted on

A cool and rainy morning here in Iowa, but it doesn’t look to be quite the deluge it was a week or so ago, and that’s okay by me.  Sun’s out! It was out. REally.

Also okay by me is a day to get caught up on some chores around the house–dishes, anyone?–and maybe do an errand or two, get some knitting and reading done, and just be domestic. I should go to the bank and get a little cash, as well–I literally gave my last dollar away on Sunday, and  I’m not one bit sorry I did. It was for a really great reason. And here’s a funny thing–it’s kind of liberating to be without cash. I can’t just dash off somewhere and buy something. I’m obliged to use what I have. I won’t be able to make it through the entire week, much less the month, being cashless, but I’m going to enjoy it for now.

That’s not to say that I don’t have plenty here. There’s food enough for a couple of weeks, maybe longer, except for yogurt and apples. I’m out of peanut butter, but I’ll survive. I have the basics of soap and shampoo and cat food–for some reason, I have a huge stockpile of moist cat food and there’s still plenty of dry, so the stinky cat won’t starve. There’s toilet paper. I have clothes. I need shoes in the worst way, but I could manage, and anyway, I have money set aside for shoes. I just hate buying them, is all. I have yarn and books and the water’s still running, so I have something to drink. I don’t have to worry about where I’m going to live, there’s money in my checking account to cover my puny bills later in the month, and all in all, I’d say I have everything I need, and a heck of a lot of what I want.

Life is pretty darn good.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

