RSS Feed

Rewarding

Posted on

Turns out it was a beautiful afternoon yesterday, just right for doing some mowing, and so I got ‘er done at my house sitting gig. I also got a blister the size of a quarter on my heel, thanks to a wardrobe malfunction in the sock area, but I think I’ll live.

My house sitting job will come to an end this weekend, and I’m really going to miss it. It’s been rewarding in ways that have nothing to do with money, and it’s made me nostalgic for my “faux wife” days with Mr. F, when running a household was my daily task and pleasure. Rewarding? Hugely. Nothing else I’ve done has ever given me the sense of satisfaction and purpose I found in playing householder. It was, for the most part, a satisfied life.

I ran across a link to the following on Facebook earlier today and it struck all kinds of chords with me, and maybe something in it will speak to you, too. I hope you’ll take the time to read it. This is the kind of life I aspire to.

http://donnafreedman.com/2013/05/30/a-satisfied-life/#comment-36935

ETA: Here’s a thing: T-shirts that were decidedly tight not that long ago are now decidedly much looser. Happy? Dang right I am!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. I liked your comment on Donna Freeman’s blog — a pinwheel certainly can fill your senses, especially when it is twirling. Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

