RSS Feed

Accountability

Posted on

Call it goal-setting or accountability or what-have-you, I’m seeing how writing things down is helping me to get them done.

A concrete example? In yesterday’s post, I said I was going to finish up hat number 39 and cast on number 40. No problem with finishing number 39, but I put number 40 on the back burner until about 11:30 last night, when I got busy and got it cast on before midnight.

There’s no one checking up on me–and that’s probably a good thing, because I don’t like that kind of thing at all–and no one is yelling at me when I don’t get things done. Still, I feel accountable for doing what I say write that I’m going to do, but that isn’t a bad thing. I’m setting goals, I’m writing them down, and I’m getting some stuff done. That feels good. I’m accountable to me, and me alone, and for once, I’m not letting myself down.

I’m not saying any of this to brag. But I am seeing, again, the alchemy of writing it down. Writing that I’ll do it more often than not means I will do it. It’s much more powerful than my just saying “yeah, I’m going to do it,” whatever it is. The writing down of the thing is the key for me.

I don’t think it matters one bit whether it’s written in a public forum or a private one. This blog has more or less replaced my private journal (for good or ill), but I’ve found the same power of written intention when I kept my private journal. For me, at least, words have power. Words have magic. Words–written words–make and keep me accountable, and have allowed me to achieve some of my goals.

For today, the goals are to complete my weights and abs routines and get out for a walk, barring more rain. If it rains, it’ll be some yoga. Food-wise, it’ll be low-to-no carbs for the rest of the day, with a healthful snack this afternoon (an apple and maybe a couple of mini sweet peppers). No added sugar; honey, in a limited amount, is allowed to sweeten my tea. Also limited will be my time on the computer for the remainder of the day. Shutting the darn thing down and walking away from it has been a good thing for me.

Wishing you good things today, too!

ETA: Weights and abs are done. I stepped up my weights routine to the next level after getting a little too comfortable with the previous one. I’m feeling it. I’m also feeling a little stoked after doing a real (modified) push-up! I did it! Also added to the mix was an unexpectedly vigorous session of yoga for my knees. I think I’m going to keep it in the rotation. It not only worked my knees but my midsection, where I need the most work. I feel pretty damn good right about now.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

