RSS Feed

April goals

Posted on

No foolin’–just a brief look back at March and a look ahead to the month just beginning.

I’ll admit to feeling a little discouraged in regard to my Health goals. I really don’t have much to show for near-daily efforts to shed some of my excess weight. My history has been to work (and work and work and work) with little visible result, then a sudden and dramatic change. Maybe that’ll happen this time, too. I hope so. I’m ready to move into that smaller, fitter body I know is waiting for me. I’ll keep working until I find it, despite setbacks or temporary discouragement. I’m not quitting, not this time. Screw that kind of thinking. I’m doing this.

Despite being somewhat discouraged, and having missed more days than I’d have liked because of the cold that won’t go away, I came very close to my goal of 30 minutes of exercise a day, five to six days a week. That’s good! I feel better overall, and I can see more changes in my arms, shoulders, and upper back. I feel less flab overall, too, but I’m still seeing it–less belly and butt, to be sure, but not as much less as I’d like, and I’m not ready for smaller clothes yet. I’m not sure how that works, but there you have it. I’ll keep going until I get to where I want to be.

I feel better, however, and that’s not something to sneer at. The most telling signs that I feel better are my eyes–they’re clearer and brighter than they have been for quite some time, and that’s something to be glad of. There’s a little of the old me coming back to life, too, and that, my friends, is wonderful!

My health goals for April are: work up to 45 minutes of exercise a day, five to six days a week. Reduce carbs intake. Cut back on sweets. Work on strengthening my knees every day. Strong knees will let me do the walking I need to do to get the belly off of me, and to build my overall health. Bum knees are just going to hold me back, and as Sweet Brown said, “Ain’t nobody got time for that.”

I made my Heart goal of 37 hats, and number 38 is on the needles. I’m getting so close! My goal for April is to have a total of 44 done, which means I need to step up my game a little. I’m going to do it, though. 44, here I come!

Happiness: I had pretty vague goals for March, mostly concerning computer and TV use at night. I did a pretty fair job of shutting both down earlier than I had been and spending some time each day reading. My target for April is to continue with the reading plan, which is to spend 15 minutes each day just quietly reading, without any distractions.

I’m also going to reinstate a partial tech sabbath on Sundays, which will mean no posts that day. Phone and TV will still be allowed, but no computer. I plan to shut down on Saturday nights and come back online Monday mornings. If you miss me on Sundays–well, good. Maybe you’re meant to miss me.

That’s it for me for now. Wishing you a good Monday!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

