RSS Feed

Nothing to say?

Posted on

The day hasn’t gone as planned and I’m running late, but that’s okay. It’ll all work out. Hakuna matata, right?

And here’s a funny thing–I really don’t have much to say today. I’m laughing about it, because I’ve been thinking “I’ve got to do a blog post. I’ve got to do a blog post” all day, until now, when I’m thinking “nothing to say. Nothing to say.”

The truth is, I don’t gotta do a damn thing. No, scratch that. I don’t gotta do a lot of damn things–but blog posts are not on my short list of things that I really absolutely without fail have to do. I do them because they help me, they’re a concrete record of what I’ve been up to, and I can see, if I look back at the beginnings, just how far I’ve come. That business of looking back is helpful. I don’t care what anyone else says–you can’t see how far you’ve come if you never look back. It may be a long, long road stretching out before you, but it’s a longer one stretching out behind you, and I find that heartening. All you really have to do is keep moving forward.

Sure, you’re going to have those days and weeks and sometimes months and years when you get sucked back into the past, but you don’t have to stay there. Your choice. You can move forward. Dare to see what’s around the next bend. Even if it’s not really what you want, you’ve moved forward, and you can keep moving on from there.

I’m going to keep telling myself that.

And sometimes, when you think you have nothing to say, you might be wrong.

Happy Monday, all!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

