RSS Feed

I’m still here

Posted on

After a day off to spend time with friends at Springbrook State Park, about an hour and a half away from here, I’m back. Hope you missed me!

It was another damp and dreary day and the hoped-for walks didn’t happen, but it was a great day to stay inside with some good folks and play games, laugh, and share some good food. I really have the nicest friends! The highlight of the day for me was at supper, when the youngest gamer, a charming and bright-eyed two-year-old, asked everyone at the table “what made you happy today?” That made me happy! and it’s something I’m going to remember to ask myself every night from now on.

The drive over, though rainy at times, was uneventful. Coming back was another story. It was a Stephen King kind of night, with dense fog, a sometimes disappearing road, and the sudden appearance of another vehicle driving uncomfortably close to my back bumper. I tried hard not to think about the creepy killer clown hiding in my backseat, just waiting his chance. *shudder* It was a tense time on the road and by the time I got back to town, I had a headache from all the clenching of teeth and the white-knuckle grip on the wheel and yelling at people to stop riding my tail. But I made it! and that’s what counts–and it made me pretty happy, too.

Today I had the pleasure of driving in rain, sleet, and snow, though it wasn’t nearly as bad as last night’s drive. We’re under the gun for another bleeping winter storm, but I’m really hoping the forecast is way off. There’s nothing going on at the moment other than a bit of light rain, and I’m okay with that if it has to do anything at all. It’s sleeting now. I guess the weather guys were right. Poo.

It seems like a while since I updated the 3-H project, although I think I did last week. Here’s how it went this past week:

Health: I took Wednesday off to recover from my visit with the dental hygienist. The latest procedure really knocked the stuffing out of me, as my dad would have said, and it took longer to bounce back from it than I’d anticipated. I also took yesterday as an off day; otherwise, I kept to my daily commitment to get some activity in. I’m still seeing small improvements and am not going to stop doing what’s working for me. Gold star, even if I did take two days off.

Happiness: I missed my reading time yesterday, but otherwise have been spending some happy time with my book each day. It’s been really refreshing to shut the computer and TV off and have that peaceful time at the end of the day. I’m going to continue making reading each day a priority. Gold star!

Heart: Hat number 34 (!) is off the needles. Number 35 is yet to be cast on, but that may happen later today. Tomorrow at the latest. Gold star? you bet!

Still a long way to go, but I am on my way, and I am taking joy in the journey.

I’m also taking a nap. Whatever the rest of your day brings you, I wish you something to make you happy at the end of the day.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

