RSS Feed

A departure

Posted on

There’s intermittent sunshine and some melting going on here today. Both are very welcome. Still no robins, but I saw a purple finch right outside my bedroom window this morning. I’m hoping for a walk later on, both to get some fresh air and to outpace the mood that’s clinging to me this morning. A headache and a very loud “roommate” have made me kind of crabby this morning. It’s a temporary thing, it won’t last, don’t get your panties in a bunch over it. Everyone has days like this. If you don’t believe me, read on:

But I am very poorly today and very stupid and hate everyone and everything. One lives only to make blunders.

–Charles Darwin

I ran across that quote the other day and have been waiting for a crabby day to share it. Whatever you think of Darwin and his theories, perhaps you can at least agree that he had a facile mind. I don’t know about you, but I think it’s kind of heartening to have proof that even the smartest of people have dumb and crabby days.

The quote was taken from a letter Darwin wrote to a friend; by the time it would have arrived, the mood surely would have lifted. That made me think of all the letters sent, all the emotions expressed, all the news, good and bad, shared that was old news by the time it arrived, and all the letters that never arrived at their intended destinations. How we so take for granted the near-instantaneous nature of email and texts, and how even a delay of a few seconds in response can irritate. How we so lack patience. I have to wonder–were those who came before us better people for having to learn patience? Something to think about.

Also on my mind today is the subject of unrequited love. A friend of mine, an academic, is researching a paper on unrequited love, specifically on lovers who, after waiting and waiting, finally get together only to find each other a crashing disappointment. She’s polled her Facebook friends for examples from literature and film. I’ve been wracking my brain for examples, but can’t think of a single one right now. I’m having fun trying, though. There are days when I miss academia, and this is one of them. It’s still fun to have an assignment, even if I won’t be graded on my work.

So, there you have it–a real departure from other posts of late, but this is what’s rattling around in my head today. Wishing you interesting thoughts!

ETA: A worthy “happiness” goal has finally come to me: I plan to read quietly each day for 10 or 15 minutes. I haven’t been reading much lately and it struck me this morning how much I’ve been missing it. “Quietly” may be somewhat hard to achieve at times, but I’m more than willing to leave the house and read in my car somewhere if that’s what I need to do. I hope I will fall in love with reading all over again.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

