RSS Feed

March goals

Posted on

So it’s the day after a night out, and while I thought I would have an “overserved” kind of day today, I think I’m going to be okay. My capacity for overindulgence is epic and I need to keep it on a tighter leash–maybe one of those retractable doohickeys, where I let myself go about so far before yanking myself back. Every life should have a little sin in it, but the operative word there is “little” and it’d be swell if I remembered that a little more often.

I’ve been giving some thought to my 3-H goals for the month, and while they may not be fully formed just yet, I think I have a pretty good idea of where I want to be by the end of the month. Here we go:

Health: My goal is to be up to 30 minutes of activity, five to six days each week. Because it will warm up, I’m looking at walking as my primary form of exercise, with weight training and work on my core every other day. I’d also like to find a stretching routine that works for me and incorporate it into my every day activities.

Secondary to that is to start to update the music on my MP3 player, which I’ve heard so dang many times I’m sick of it all. Studies have been done that show listening to music while walking will increase one’s pace, and from my experiences a few years ago, I know that’s true for me. It’d be nice to have a fresh playlist to get me moving!

I also need to get new shoes and some kind of inserts to help prevent the recurrence of plantar fasciitis, which is no joke. And another knee brace. Probably more BenGay, too. Aging–it ain’t cheap.

Heart: I’m going to keep plugging away at the Random Hats project, and hope to get my head in the right place again so it feels more a joy than a chore. I’m currently working on number 33; my plan to have a total of 37 done by the end of the month.

I’m also going to make sure that I spend time with friends this month, making more effort to reach out, instead of waiting for others to reach out to me. I’m a self-contained individual, but I do need to get out of my cocoon a bit more.

Happiness: Spend less time thinking about doing the stuff that makes me happy and just freaking go do it. I realize that’s pretty nebulous a goal and hard to track, but that’s what I’m feeling I need to do. The quote by Thoreau is apt: “Happiness is like a butterfly; the more you chase it, the more it will elude you, but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit softly on your shoulder.” Tweak that a little and you get this: less thinking + more doing = more happy.

I haven’t chosen a theme for the month (yet, and I may not, after February), but I think I could sum up my goals for March like this: more belly laughs, less belly.

I can do this!

P.S. If you haven’t and you feel so inclined, you can “like” my Sassback page on Facebook. Just click on the button on this page! I’d be pleased to have you join me!

ETA: I will not overuse the exclamation point! I won’t! I promise!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

