RSS Feed

Week in review 2/16/13

Posted on

It’s 11:30 in the a.m. and here I am still in my jim-jams. I haven’t had breakfast yet, either, but with it so close to lunchtime, that seems a bit silly now.

I may have had just a little too much Friday night and really should not ever be allowed to mix my own drinks ever again, but I had a great time with my friends last night. S and D have a real gift for bringing together congenial groups of people, for making folks feel very much at home, and for modeling a relaxed, warm, and welcoming style of hosting. I’d adopt their easy-going methods in a heartbeat if I were in a position to entertain.

So let’s take a look back at the week and see how I did with the 3-H project, shall we?

Health: after three days off because of the de-toothing, I was able to get back to some workouts starting last Monday. I resumed my every-other-day schedule of weight training one day, cardio/flexibility/whatever else is ailing me on the other. I’m also finding that I want to do more and am adding more to the mix as I go along. Two days this week, there was the “official” workout, followed by walking. Yesterday, it was a combo of a short but challenging Pilates routine along with my favorite weight training video, and it felt damn good.

I surprised myself by being able to do a really half-assed but recognizable couple of modified push-ups. I’ve never been able to do push-ups, modified or otherwise, and when I started this little health adventure a few weeks ago, all I could manage was to hold myself sort of in place, muscles trembling like mad and protesting and screaming “stop this immediately!” To be able to do more than that is pretty huge in my book–and I don’t care about yours–so yay! to progress!

I’m seeing more definition and less flab in my arms and shoulders. My collarbones, which have been MIA for ages, are peeking out now and then. Nekked Friday has revealed less Buddha in my belly. My right knee, which has been painful and unreliable for ages, feels stronger and more sure. There’s most decidedly a whole lot less pain in it. I can get down on the floor and back up again much more easily. I’m moving better overall, with less stiffness after sitting for a time.

I feel a hell of a lot better. This has been a great thing for me, and I’m not going to quit. Several gold stars, because I feel that good about what I’m doing.

Happiness: I have really sucked at this set of goals (shutting off the computer by 6:00 p.m. and the TV by 10:00 p.m. during the week), and I’m going to revisit and revamp them this week and most likely come up with an entirely new set of goals. I award myself a negative gold star.

Heart: Hat number 30 is off the needles. I can’t say I’m entirely happy with the way it turned out–it was a somewhat unfortunate marriage of pattern and yarn this time around–but I’m going to live with it. Number 31 will be cast on later today, and I think I’ll be a lot happier with the yarn this time. Still giving myself a gold star because I can.

I’ll be taking a tech sabbath tomorrow, and with a forecast of temps around 50, you can bet I’ll be doing my best to spend some happy hours outside. Fingers crossed for a sunny day! I’ll see you on Monday, and have a great weekend.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

