RSS Feed

Week in review

Posted on

It’s January 26th, and one week into my 3-H experiment. Time for a little look back at the week that was, doncha think?

Despite it not being a great week either physically or emotionally, and keeping in mind that the day isn’t over yet, I kept to my commitment to at least ten minutes of deliberate movement per day. I wasn’t always enthused about it, particularly on the day of the migraine, but I did it, and I’m pleased that I did. You may think ten minutes is a piddling thing, and it might be for you, but it wasn’t for me. You do this and tell me you’re not breathing hard at the end of it. I did my best to alternate cardio and weight training and I never thought I’d enjoy messing around with dumbbells, but I really did. And though I was using only one pound weights, I’m feeling the effects of those exercises, too.

All in all, I’m giving myself a gold star for Health this week. I pushed myself some, I kept at it even when I didn’t much feel like it, I mixed things up, and it did me good. I plan to continue what I’ve been doing for the next week.

I did a better job of shutting off the computer after I was through with work, but not a great job, and then I often substituted TV for computer use after. It’s something to keep working on, and I will keep this on my list of Happiness goals for the upcoming week. No gold star here.

I’m very happy to report that I met my Heart goal this week and even did it one better. Hat number 27 is off the needles as of this morning, meaning I’ve met not only the goal for the week, but for the month of January. I’m not quitting now! Number 28 will very likely be cast on later today. Gold star? You bet! My goal for the week ahead is to complete number 28 and at least have number 29 cast on.

Some other observations on the week that was: I found myself correcting my posture more often. I’m a slumper but caught myself sitting a little straighter, standing a little taller, and generally feeling a bit less rounded. That’s a good thing! There were also moments when I had a glimpse of the me-that-could-be, when I visualized a stronger, healthier, happier, thinner me. That future me was awfully appealing, and I look forward to meeting her–and being her–in the months to come.

You know what? I can do it!

ETA: I’m planning a tech sabbath beginning later today–I’ll likely be back on Monday. Have a great weekend, all!

Later that same day: I had a somewhat challenging and very frosty walk this afternoon. Not for the first time, I thought that maybe I should knit myself a hat–I dang near froze my ears off in the icy wind. Oddly enough, though, I was all sweaty once I got out of the wind. Then I ate chocolate, and I am unrepentant. This isn’t the first time I’ve had chocolate since I cut back on sugar so drastically, but it was undeniably the best. It felt like what it should be–a rare treat that was rich, decadent, and naughty. I savored every bit of it.

 

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

