RSS Feed

Later on that same day . . .

Posted on

I overslept, then I over-interneted, then I had to get my fine wide arse in gear to meet up with my knitting homies, then I did stuff, so I’m late posting. I suspect everyone will live, even if I’m late, and the world will keep on turning.

Two things are particularly on my mind today.

1. I’ve spent way too much time, both in the last few days and overall, tying up my happiness with waiting on someone else to do something, to call or email or text or stop by or whatever. Do you know how futile that is, to expect that someone will conform to my whims and needs and wants and will do whatever I expect them to do to make me happy? I think I do, or at least I do today, and can I just say “fuck that shit”? Because it’s stupid to so heavily depend on someone else for your happiness. No matter how great someone in your life is, at some point, he or she is going to let you down, and then where will you be?

I’m not saying the people in your life can’t greatly add to your happiness. They can also greatly detract from it, and in that case, if you can, run like hell because they are not doing you any good. Ask me how I know. Conversely, if you’re happy with someone, say somewhere around 80% of the time, you’ve got a keeper, and for the love of Mike, don’t mess it up. Ask me how I know about that one, too. Not that I’m the only one who messed things up–I’m not. I’m just owning my share of it.

What I am saying here is, you gotta make your own happy. Don’t sit around waiting for someone else to do that for you, because it’s not happening. It just isn’t. You can write that down somewhere (like I just did).  And if you need prettier words than mine, the Bard himself had this to say: “Expectation is the root of all heartache.”

2. Some people are just never going to be happy, about anything. Nothing is to their satisfaction; everything is fodder for complaining and whining and nit-picking. These people are toxic and should be avoided if possible. You may want to like them, you may find yourself frequently in close proximity with these folks for one reason or another, you may even admire some aspects of their character or their skills or whatever, but they are toxic to your happy little soul. Strap your boobs down, assuming you have them and they need to be strapped down,  and run in the opposite direction.

My friend T just posted this quote on Facebook, and talk about good timing! “The secret of happiness is to count your blessings while others are adding up their troubles.” Good old William Penn said that, and I couldn’t agree more.

Have a happy weekend, all!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. My FB post prompted your blog post which prompted my brain, heart and soul to know I’m going down the right road at the moment.

    You can’t expect others to change their ways to make you happy. Your happy is your own responsibility.

    Good job.
    😎

    Reply

Leave a Reply

