RSS Feed

You know you have too much when . . .

Posted on

So I got started on my campaign to tidy up around here last night. I started with my bedroom, an oddly shaped and never-been-quite-right kind of room that I’d like to make more appealing. It hasn’t been very pretty of late because, true to a family trait, there have been piles of stuff on the floor, including knitting projects, my knitting basket, stray balls of yarn, bags of yarn, bits of yarn–well, you get the idea.

Off I went. I was determined to get my floorspace back. I’d inherited a gigantic Sterlite tub from a friend when she moved last year and, it being gigantic and all, I thought I’d be able to get all the yarn that isn’t in my 20-gallon crock into it.

I was wrong. So very wrong.

The good news here is that I ferreted out all the yarn from every bag and box and basket and chair and whatever and wherever I’d stuck it and I filled that tub clear up to the top, all 30.5 gallons of capacity containing much wooly goodness. The bad news is, it didn’t all fit, and I filled another tub up, this one around the 15 gallon size.

That’s a hell of a lot of yarn.

I felt a little sick after I snapped the lids on those tubs and put them back where they belong. All that pretty string. All that used to be money.

Don’t get me wrong here–I don’t think it’s bad or wrong to have some stash, but 65 gallons of it? That’s too much.

Needless to say, I’m adding another bullet point to my anti-resolutions to include this: in 2013, I’m not going to be adding to my stash. I will, however,  be knitting it down as much as possible. This year, next year, probably the year after that. Too much is just–too much.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

