RSS Feed

Cocktail hour

Posted on

It was game night last night and, like they used to say in the social columns of small town newspapers, a good time was had by all. These are nice people, my game night peeps.

One of the really nice things about game night, other than the folks who come along to play, is the food and drink. Last night’s spread was exceptional, and one of the best features was the mini-bar set up over there by the microwave. Gin and tonics? Yes, please!

The only other time I’ve had a G and T, it didn’t go so well. I mixed my own and didn’t have a clue what I was doing and it was not good, so I hadn’t had a G and T for years. The ones last night, however, were perfection. I felt sort of grown up and mildly sophisticated as I sipped my big girl cocktail, and I’ve been spending some time this morning reading up on different ways to achieve the “perfect” G and T as well as researching various makers of gin. I’m really intrigued by these folks but their drink is a little spendy for a budget-minded girl like me so I’ve also been looking at less expensive, but still tasty, options. This discussion and this column have been good reading.

It’s only 11:00 a.m., but I’m looking forward to the cocktail hour!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve always been a vodka person myself, so vodka and tonic for me. I’ve mixed my own, and survived. Vodka must be easier to mix. Mostly now, I drink wine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

