RSS Feed

Being a knitter

Posted on

If you’re looking for proof that the world might actually end tomorrow, here it is: I bought cheap acrylic yarn yesterday.

I’ll admit I’ve become something of a yarn snob and I haven’t voluntarily knitted with the cheap stuff for ages because life really is too short for cheap yarn, but sometimes scruples and snobbery have to sit down and shut it. This is one of those times.

Here’s why: since the horror in Connecticut, I’ve been looking for a tangible way to do some good out there. Money is just money, and while some of that went, and as much as money can be a comfort, it only goes so far. Being a knitter, I naturally turn to my sticks and string to offer comfort, not only to myself, but to others.

I found a couple of projects asking for knitted goods destined for Newtown but the items requested would take me too long, and I’ll confess I feel some sense of urgency here. I want something I can do quickly, that I can get sent yesterday, and that will help now.

So when I saw this, I knew I’d found just the ticket.  Because the knitted goods will, it’s hoped, be loved and hugged and dragged around and slept with, the yarn needs to be easy care, and that means acrylic. So I bought some, in bright cheery colors that compliment each other well, and even though it’s the cheapest of cheap yarns and not my usual yarny fare, my focus when I’m knitting up my toys will be the kids who get them, and I’m going to put a whole lotta love into every one, transforming the cheap into something much, much more. Alchemy.

Being a knitter rocks.

ETA: I dug around in my stash and actually found some acrylic, so what I bought is going back. Use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without. I’m really good at applying that to other things in life, but not so much when it comes to yarn. Now is a really good time to start.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

