RSS Feed

Knitter’s lottery

Posted on

I have loads to do today, so I’d best get cracking. Among other, more mundane errands, I need to find some yarn. Not just any ol’ yarn, but some dark gray heathered yarn, soft as a whisper and machine washable. I have just the thing in mind if my local yarn shop has it in stock, and I could conceivably cast on later today. Woo!

I hit the knitter’s lottery yesterday when my oldest niece texted me and requested that I knit her a scarf for Christmas (or her January birthday, just in case I have to order some yarn). With that text, I arrived. I have street cred now.

My handknits have been met by my family with a kind of coolness, not in a cool way, but in a “oh, you made that, isn’t that nice” kind of way up until now. There was the blanket I knit up for my mom that was well-received and is used almost daily now that it’s turned colder, but the rest? Not so much. Until now. Needless to say, though I will say, I’m enormously pleased that my girl wants something I’ve made just for her.

I know what yarn I want to use. I know what pattern I want to use. And I know that, more than anything else, I want to make this blessed girl of mine happy. She’s hardly high maintenance and she’d be happy with just about anything, but still–I want to get it right. This matters.

 

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. I’m just getting around to reading this post and I’m surprised to see that people aren’t clamoring for your handknits. I don’t know if you remember this, but I won a hand-knit scarf you made years ago in a ‘maniac contest, and I still wear it. Every time I do, I get loads of compliments on it. People notice it and always ask, “is that hand-knit?”. I’m not kidding, either. They recognize quality when they see it. You have a lot of fans here in Michigan, is all I can say.

    Reply
    • I do remember that scarf, and that was before I knew about good yarn, too! Dang, girl, I might have to replace that with something good one of these days. I’m enormously pleased that you still wear it. Wow. So pleased. You made this knitter mighty happy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

