RSS Feed

By the numbers

Posted on

So here’s a goofy thing: it always surprises me that anyone, and I mean anyone, reads this blog. People I know tell me they read it and my response is inevitably Really? Why?

Still, it matters to me that at least a couple people check in from time to time, and while I’m not saying I’m obsessive in any way (snort),  I do peek at the site stats during the day, on the off-chance that someone has stumbled her way here. It always leaves me a little gobsmacked to see the numbers.

Just yesterday, for example, the first time I looked I was in the low single digits. Not bad, thought I, then I checked again and whoa! I was in the high single digits low double digits slightly higher double digits and I’m all what the hell, that can‘t be right. That counter thing must be broken.

I’m funny that way. Numbers–they’re sneaky and unreliable. I don’t quite believe them, even when they’re looking at me with complete innocence.  Or maybe they’re just misunderstood.

But, since it’s Freeplay Friday, here’s a song that’s strictly by the numbers. It’ll make you feel better even if you weren’t feeling bad.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

4 responses »

  1. Just a note to reassure you that I read your blog daily via the email copy I get. That probably skews your numbers as the email readings don’t count. However, you always make me think, want to slap you upside the head (only a few times), wish I could knit like you, and always, always wish you a happy, progressive day — each and every day.

    Reply
    • Ummm–I’m really glad you want to slap me upside the head, Judy. That just gave me a really warm feeling.

      Anyone can knit. Any. One. As Elizabeth Zimmermann, the grande dame of contemporary knitters, once wrote:
      “Really, all you need to become a good knitter are wool, needles, hands, and slightly below-average intelligence. Of course superior intelligence, such as yours and mine, is an advantage.”

      You were a happy meeting in the odd world of internet meetings (trust me on this one. There are some uniquely skewed people out there. I am arguably one of them, but at least I’m mostly harmless). Thanks, from my heart, for being a friend and source of support, kindness, and cheer. I hope I give some of that back to you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

