RSS Feed

Election day

Posted on

I am weary of this political season, which in Iowa starts long before it does most other places, and I’m tired of the name-calling and the divisiveness of this particular election. After all the shouting is over, I hope that all of us can remember that we’re in the same boat here and we might just as well start paddling in the same direction. Without the name-calling, the bad mouthing, the calling into question someone else’s intelligence for supporting a different candidate for whatever office.

Both of the major presidential candidates have their strengths; both are flawed. Neither is an idiot; neither is the spawn of Satan. In voting for the candidate I chose, I went with the 80% rule–if you find someone with whom you agree or can get along with 80% of the time, then go with that person. This works for just about any relationship, however intimate or distant.

For the record, and this will surprise no one, I still have a crush on Obama. At least I do about 80% of the time.

All I can say is this: vote as your conscience tells you.  I did.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. I agree with you, Kymm. Before our county joined the rest of the state as being all mail ballots, I was a supervisor of a polling place in our area. I loved the chance to interact with the locals and talk about what has been happening in their families but I was beyond exhaustion by the end of the day.

    Reply
    • It’s a crazy long day, for sure, and a crazy long period of campaigning. I’d like to see something closer to the British model, which limits campaigning to a short time, then voting commences. The U.S. system is too long, too contentious, and too costly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

