RSS Feed

K.I.S.S.

Posted on

I’ve been trying to overcomplicate things the last couple of days, making the simple difficult, thinking too much, not following the tried and true, not holding to my K.I.S.S. credo–“keep it simple, stupid.”

Not helping the matter was the tsunami of loneliness that hit me last night. Alone is one thing; lonely is quite another, and it’s not a feeling I enjoy. Once upon a time, I would have eaten my loneliness away, stuffing sugary junk in my mouth. Last night, I turned to the web, and while I didn’t do anything irreparably stupid other than waste a whole lot of time, I didn’t do anything particularly helpful, either. At least I likely burned a few calories while surfing.

So today I’m deliberately turning my mind toward the simple and beautiful, and these are the things that are bringing me pleasure just now:

–Drinking my good cold water out of a real glass instead of my usual plastic bottle.

–Soft, pretty yarn.

–More sunshine than clouds.

–Recognizing when my hunger was sated during lunch and not continuing to eat out of habit or boredom.

I’m also looking forward to my next tech sabbath. I briefly broke it last week and was sorry I did–the hours of offline time have done me good, and I want to continue to do what is good and helpful to me.

For now, I’m ready to K.I.S.S. the rest of my Saturday hello.

I’ll see you on Monday.

Later: I didn’t do any of the stuff I should have. Instead, I went to my favorite park, had an excellent walk, then read, napped, and knitted for a while. That pocket of sanity in my day has been a lifesaver.

Now, I’ll say it for real: I’ll see you on Monday.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

