RSS Feed

No sugar

Posted on

It was a golden day.

The sun broke through the clouds late Saturday afternoon and I woke Sunday morning to glorious clear blue skies, blessed sunshine, and warm temperatures–it was a day made to be outside, and that’s where I was most of the afternoon. I spent time at two of my favorite parks, walking in the woods in one of them, the smell of autumn leaves surrounding me, the crunch of them at my feet. A thousand tiny winged insects danced in the beams of sunlight streaming through the mostly bare branches, and silken threads sewn from tree to tree by unseen spiders glistened in the golden light.

I was happy to notice that I didn’t need to stop as often as I have had to in the past, sometimes up to four or five times. This time, I stopped twice. The first time was not because I needed to, but because I wanted to, for a bit of a think in a peaceful spot. The second time, I needed a little rest after climbing halfway up a hill on some rough-hewn steps to a handy bench along the trailside. It’s also a nice spot for a sit and think, offering views of woods and cornfields and often the sight of deer browsing in the field. I then usually have to stop after climbing the rest of the way up the hill, and although I was a bit winded, I was glad to pass by the bench at the top of the hill.

I have to attribute the increased stamina to being off sugar. I can’t think of any other explanation, because I haven’t been getting out very often for my walks these last weeks and months. I’d been feeling pretty crappy the week or so before, as well, so being off sugar seems a pretty reasonable explanation.

I think I like this sugar-free life.

 

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

