RSS Feed

The pause that refreshes

Posted on

I’m back!

The tech sabbath was an unqualified success and you can bet I’ll be doing it again, very likely this coming Sunday. You may remember that my tech sabbath was only about turning the computer off. My phone was still on and I watched some TV but neither of those suck me in and waste my time the way being online does.

I shut down the computer just before 8:00 p.m. on Saturday and turned it back on around 1:45 p.m. today (Monday). Did I miss it? Nope. I was mildly–and only very mildly–tempted to turn it on once or twice, but I didn’t, and I’m glad I resisted. My Sunday was a nice mix of work and relaxation as a result. I did laundry and some long-overdue cleaning, I knit, I watched some TV, I dozed, and never felt as if I were wasting time. It was a good day.

I also had some ice cream, probably about a pint, and it satisfied both my desire for a treat and my curiosity. There was no sugar high, I didn’t get crazy, there wasn’t a sugar crash, and best of all, there wasn’t a headache after all the shouting was over. I’m thinking I can incorporate some ice cream or frozen yogurt into my eating now, maybe a couple times a month, without ill effect. That makes me feel good and naughty, and I like it. Every life should have a sin or two in it, after all.

From here on out, you can probably look for me to take a tech sabbath each week, most likely on Sunday. It really was a pause that refreshed, and I highly recommend it.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

