RSS Feed

An omen?

Posted on

I woke up with a mild headache brewing this morning, the product, I believe, of eating too late last night when I pushed my “no food after 8:00” rule a little too hard. Or it could be from reading too much yesterday, too. Who knows? All I know for sure is that I hope it doesn’t turn into a full-blown migraine, because it’s a spectacularly beautiful day today, with temps predicted to go into the lower 80s, and there won’t be too many days like this left this year.

I had an unexpected joy last night at the park as I sat reading–and if you’re interested, I’ve been re-reading the Harry Potter series and am on Year Three right now. A flock of small birds passed overhead and landed just a few feet from me. Bluebirds! I think I love them only second to robins for their cheekiness and beauty, and they do bring happiness. Migratory creatures, the little charmers pass through Iowa in the fall and spring on their way to who knows where, and their visit is often so brief that if you’re not as lucky as I was, you’ll miss them altogether. Twice, one landed on my car’s antenna as I watched them flit about–maybe an omen of happiness to come? I can only hope.

But you know me. I always hope.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

