RSS Feed

Saturday plans

Posted on

I have a free day. Other than a load of laundry and working online a bit, there’s not a single thing I have to do. Everything else I do today, I get to do. I’m a little giddy.

Mostly, I want to knit today. I’ve been missing it so much lately, and the work at the library has again left me with hands so stiff and sore at the end of the day that I haven’t been able to do much. Taking the day off yesterday was a good thing, and today, my hands are wanting to feel bamboo and wool, sticks and string, wanting that familiar rhythm of pulling the next loop through.

I got together with some friends last night for a simple but wonderful meal of pizza, fruit, and fancy-ass cookies, and then–well, then, we knit. Friend S is teaching someone how to knit and while they sat side by side knitting away, T and I sat side by side working on our projects. Mostly I was doing some finishing work, weaving in ends on a project I’d finished knitting ages ago and on a hat for the Random Hats project, and it was a peaceful and lovely way to spend an evening.

Knitting, I’ve found, is not only about making stuff. It’s about making a life, too.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. Well said and I do agree!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

