RSS Feed

Happy Naked Friday

Posted on

No worries, there won’t be any pics.

Here’s what Naked Friday is about: I’d read somewhere about a therapist who worked primarily with women dealing with issues of self-esteem. Which would be most women. And with most women, there are body image/acceptance issues. Society and often the people closest to us do not help, I’ve found.

As part of learning to accept and even love their bodies, the therapist asked her clients to strip down completely naked and then look at themselves in a full-length mirror. This was done once a week, outside of the therapy session and at home and in private. She asked the women to still those harsh critical voices in their heads and to look at their bodies with kindness and compassion. The exercise, over time, allowed the women to see past the flaws and find the strengths and beauties of their bodies, to be grateful for the one body they will ever have, and to be kinder to it and care for it appropriately. Isn’t that something that more women would benefit from? I know I did some years ago.

As an overweight woman, I’ve struggled with body image issues much of my life. I’ve dealt with my family’s attitudes–apparently I’m an embarrassment to them–as well as insults from random strangers and lovers, too. I’ve spent years despising myself, hating my body, neglecting it, being embarrassed myself by it, feeling unworthy, stupid, lazy, ashamed. I worked so hard to overcome that a few years ago, but I’ve allowed myself to fall back into that trap.

Enough, I say.

This is what I have, this body of mine. I’m flawed and scarred. I have a big ass and belly and that flappy arm stuff and I’m getting old lady neck. So what? That has no bearing whatsoever on my value. I’m a good person. I’m a worthy person. Not perfect, but damn good. And I’m taking steps–literally and figuratively–to care for and love my body, and you can kiss my big ass if it’s not good enough for you.

So I’m stripping off, I’m standing in front of that mirror, and I’m gonna love what I’ve got.

Happy Naked Friday!

Later: done, and you know what? I have great legs. I see more defined shoulders, thanks to all that book lifting at the library, and a smaller belly. I see potential.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

3 responses »

  1. You are beautiful. I look at your fb profile picture and think how nice you look even when you have just a hint of a smile. It is a sad world we live in, when we are judged by our looks alone. I am one of the “we” too and as you probably know, I have had the same thoughts as you.

    Reply
    • What a lovely compliment. Thank you.

      I don’t know that we’re judged only by our looks–the good and worthy people in the world see the beauty in the soul.

      I do look kinda pissed off in my FB pic, though. Just sayin.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: March on | The Sassback Initiative

Leave a Reply

