RSS Feed

Epic fails

Posted on

The clock just rolled over to 1:00 a.m. and I’m still more awake than not. It was game night last night at D and S’s and I’m still a little wired from the good time it was, and still a little full from the good snacks and drinks we shared.

I suck at games, despite having gone to game night for a good long time by now. I just don’t have the kind of mind that grasps the strategies or the rules of most games. It’s rare that I “get” a game and rarer still that I win, and you know what? It doesn’t matter, because it’s still a whole lot of fun.

One of the most freeing things I’ve learned in the past few years is that I don’t have to be good at everything I attempt, or that I keep attempting. I can flail around and fail, and I do, and sometimes I just don’t care. Giving myself permission to not have to be good at everything I enjoy is what matters and I promise you, this is no half-assed failing we’re talking about here–I’m in it all the way. I’m really good at epic fails and sometimes they can be big fun.

Several hours later: I really have to learn to lay off the rum and Cokes.  Good thing I have no plans for the day.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

