RSS Feed

Friday ramblings

Posted on

It’s the end of another week and I’m looking forward to game night tonight. Although the bleeping trebuchet I was supposed to take ended up in the trash, I think they’ll still let me in.

I don’t know about you, but my leisure activities are governed by a single guiding principle: if it ain’t fun, it ain’t done. Building that trebuchet was not fun, like sewing or crocheting or juggling chain saws is not fun. I squandered $1.92 on the sticks to make it, about a full stick of hot glue, and an hour of my life, and I added to the landfill problem to boot. I don’t even know if hot glue is biodegradable. Anyone?

In any case, I think a little fun is in order. It feels a long time since I’ve had a really good, I’m-laughing-so-hard-I-might-just-pee-myself-a-little-bit kind of moment, and the adult beverages will certainly have nothing to do with either the laughing or the mini-peeing.

Saturday will likely not be so joyful, as I am facing another bout of Mandatory Family Fun. Which will be an unlikely outcome, and which falls under the heading of “duty” rather than a leisure activity so it will have to be done. Endured. Whatever. I know, it’s my family and all, but really–these are not the fun people and sometimes I wonder if they don’t have homes of their own and why they don’t go to them. And there will not be drinks.

Maybe Sunday should be set aside for “me time.” With drinks.

Later: whoopsie. I forgot that all of the trash here is burned to create energy for the city. I’m creating toxic hot glue fumes?

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

