RSS Feed

Small victories

Posted on

I’d posted a rant in the wee hours this morning which one or two of you may have seen. It wasn’t just snarky; it was mean and I knew it and so I took it down a while ago. I’m all for a little snark–it makes my world go ’round–but mean isn’t cool. A small victory for the better part of me.

My eating has been out of control for the past week, certainly, and beyond. I did a lot of fast food last week, a lot of carbs, and a lot of sugar. None of those are good for me in the least, except in small doses. I was pleased that I was able to make a mindful decision yesterday to curb the urges I’ve had and eat well. More mindfulness; less mindless stuffing.

Along with the mindless eating, I’ve been doing a bit of mindless spending. Nothing too alarming–I haven’t bought any big ticket items–but there was all that fast food and some impulsive online purchasing. I’d also abandoned tracking my spending, and that’s not good, because it’s the most effective tool I’ve found for controlling my spending. I’m getting back to that practice this week and being mindful of my money.

Small things that add up to big things, given time. I’m counting them all as victories.

 

 

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. A little while back I read an article in the NYT discussing the interplay between will power, choices, self denial. It seems that once a person has succeeded in denying themselves something that they really crave (self discipline) subsequent choices which may also be “bad” for the person seem less important — and therefore easier to say yes to. So last week it sounds like you went to work again. Then the other stuff followed. Just saying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

