RSS Feed

The day after

Posted on

It’s the day after and I need to work but I’m so bleary-eyed I can barely see the screen. I didn’t partake of a drop, but there was food in quantity and sweets–sweets stretching into infinity. It was like Charlie and his chocolate factory, without the creepy Johnny Depp portrayal. Nice as a fantasy but not so great in reality.

A while back someone not so kindly pointed out to me that I go a little crazy when I’m on the sugar and as much as I hate to admit it, he was right. These days, it’s not so much that I go nuts, it’s that I feel hungover the next day and that’s about as bad as the going crazy. Of the leftovers from yesterday, it’s mostly what’s not good for me and I wonder if I will have the will to resist, knowing and feeling what I know and feel right now.

The post-holiday food detox begins today. Bye-bye, sweets. I’ll miss you, but it’s best that we say so long.

Wish me luck?

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

6 responses »

  1. Similar things happen to me if I eat too many sweets. The next day I feel hung over alright, and I do not drink alcohol at all. So, yes, this is a good time to pare down the sweets and get ready for spring as the days lengthen.

    Reply
  2. Well! When I come out of my headachey, woozy state this is what I what makes me feel better and lighter:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

