RSS Feed

Crafturday

Posted on

Today is the day I meet with one of my knitting groups, and I usually look forward to it. Lately, it hasn’t been so much fun but my (cold) fingers are crossed that today will be a good one. Such good people, by and large, in the group. It’s amazing how just one or two can affect it negatively, and that’s made me a bit more mindful of the kind of energy I’m bringing. I’m thinking positive!

You know I’m a great starter on knitting projects and not so much a great finisher, but today I have something pretty, warm, functional, and done to show you.

Easy peasy and pink!

These are Easy Peasy mitts from Jennifer Casa, a free (!) pattern I found via a Ravelry link. If you knit or crochet and you’re not a member of Ravelry, what are you waiting for? It’s free, it’s fun, and best of all, there are tons of free patterns available to you, not to mention loads of inspiration, along with the occasional terrible warning–really, there are some fugly things there along with the stunningly beautiful. A good time is waiting, so get thee over there and sign up.

My mitties have proven to be a great knit–the pattern is simple but effective, the fit is perfect, and these little beauties were great when I needed just a hint of warmth during October and November while outside. I wore them last night while reading in bed and was so glad to have them–I don’t think I’ll be without a pair of fingerless mitts from now on.

The yarn is Cascade 220, a great little workhorse yarn. I lost the ballband so I can’t tell you exactly what the color is, but as you can see, it’s a pretty orchid pink–kind of a departure from my usual blues, greens, and grays, but I love the pop of color. I’d give the pattern and the project as a whole a five-star rating on a five-star scale.

Make it a good day, and go make something good!

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

Leave a Reply

