RSS Feed

Freeplay Friday

Posted on

I’ve been struggling this week, with personal issues as well as extended family ones, and with the cold weather that’s settling in for the next few months. My optimism seems to be on vacation, and I’m aware of some unresolved anger that will eat away at me while I eat away at it if I don’t find some means of dealing with it, and soon. So, not a great week here, but it’s all part of the process. Here’s hoping the simple message of this favorite song will lift me, and you, just a bit:

A postscript: A long lunch with an old friend I’d lost touch with combined with a long but cold ramble in the woods have restored some sense of equilibrium. I’m never happier, more at peace, or more myself than when I’m outside in the quiet world out there, and if it seems a recurring theme, it is, and there’s a reason, I’m sure of it. Some places call certain people to them, and I feel the call to settle somewhere in, or very near, nature. Another dream, perhaps, but a lovely one.

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

2 responses »

  1. Keep writing in your personal journal. It always helps to write your feelings/problems down. Keep going to your knitting groups. They sound like a nice group of ladies who will support you emotionally when you need it. Also, I’ve found it is easy to talk to others on the internet who you’ve never met before. Somehow it is easier to write down how you are feeling and send it in an email to someone, than it is to sit down and talk to someone in person. Lastly, even though I love some slow songs, I have to find music with more power to it. That is partly where I get my strength.

    Reply
  2. On that last note, about 10 years ago, I went to the doctor for various reasons. After listening to me, he said I could have depression. I walked out and switched from listening primarily to country music to pop/rock and haven’t gone back since. This is probably another reason why I hate Christmas music, unless it is in church where it belongs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

