RSS Feed

Christmas lists

Posted on

I just made my Christmas list to pass on to my family. My brothers will be here shortly and we’ll be taking our mom out for lunch in celebration of her 86th birthday, and I wanted to have something ready for them as they begin their holiday shopping.

I’m a little stunned by how much stuff is on the list–generally, I have about three things on these kinds of lists and I really only  want about half of those, but aside from some CDs, almost everything on my list would go to support the life I’m working toward constructing: earmuffs to keep my ears from freezing while I’m out walking; SmartWool socks for my feet. PG Tips tea to warm me after a cold walk, and cracked heel cream for my poor abused feet.

I’m requesting some gift cards as well, but those seldom go toward anything other than the woefully practical. I tend to hoard them until money is so tight you can hear it squeak so I have something to fall back on, and I did, in fact, just use up one this week that I’d had since last Christmas on such extravagances as toothpaste and toilet paper.

The things I really want aren’t on the list. I’d like to see shoes on the feet of those who need them. A roof over the heads of those without one. Clothes and food and clean, safe water for everyone, and how about health care for all while we’re at it? I’d like to see women able to live and work and provide for their families without fear of abuse. I’d like to see children–girls, especially–given the chance to have an education, and to know their own incredible, unique worth to this world.

Selfishly, I’d like for me to be able to go home, which is not a place, but a person.

I’d like peace and comfort and healing and forgiveness and love and simply enough for everyone.

What’s on your list?

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

One response »

  1. No list here. No one to buy anything for me; although, I have to admit, my sister-in-law usually sends me something, it’s often late, but the thought is there. I do treasure her. My sister hates her. My sister-in-law is from Peru and does things a little different, but she still has a wonderful heart. She called on Thanksgiving to wish me a good day. She didn’t want to forget me and thought it was getting late, so even though my brother was napping, she called. She said I am welcome there (Tucson) anytime. I don’t even have to ask. See what I mean?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

