RSS Feed

UFOs

Posted on

Before you start thinking I’m wearing my stylish tinfoil hat

it’s not that kind of UFO. In knitting parlance, it’s an Unfinished Object.

I’m a great starter. Remember the 37 Days project? Yeah, it’s kinda like that. I get a bee in my bonnet about something-or-other and think “I’m gonna do that,” whatever “that” is. Those are four little words that should set off all kinds of alarms but it’s amazing how easily I ignore them and end up spending far too much money or time or both on some abortive project that languishes in a bag or box or my closet for weeks. Months and years is more like it on a lot of things.

I have a blanket on the needles that I’ve been pecking at for over a year now and I’m in the homestretch, but I keep putting it off. It’s a well-traveled blanket, having made the 450-mile trip to Mr. F’s with me numerous times, but all those miles don’t add up to a finished product. There’ll be, when I complete the last stitch, a sort of bittersweet satisfaction in the finishing, but that may be the very reason I keep putting off that last push to get it done. I’ve loved the yarn, the colors, the pattern of this blanket, and it’s been a visual and tactile pleasure. I don’t want to say good-bye, not just yet, even though I know there will be other projects to come that will steal a bit of my heart. I linger over it, wanting it to last.

Silly me. Life is all about change, about good-byes and hellos to new things and people, and I know that, but still, it’s hard for me to accept it sometimes. The river keeps flowing, but I want to stop it at certain points and keep dangling my feet in those happy waters.

Funny how knitting is so much like life.

 

 

About Kymm

I'm a reader and writer and knitter, a sister, daughter, and friend. This blog is my letter, of love and hate, frustration and joy, rants and praises, to a great big world. You can read it if you want to.

4 responses »

  1. I have UFOs lying all over. I couldn’t even part with some of my mom’s UFOs…thinking maybe I would finish them. I do best when the project is for someone else…then I get it done. I have an owl painting that will eventually go into a unique frame that nature made itself (see my FB photos) I have vowed to get that finished this winter. Wish me luck!

    Reply
  2. I have a shawl that has traveled all the way to England, France and Spain and back to the USA and it’s still not finished. It’s a very well traveled shawl anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

